Ridge Volunteer Fire Department

Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

2018 Incidents
Jan 18
Feb 8
Mar 22
Apr 20
May 15
Jun 30
Jul 28
Aug 26
Sept 22
Oct 24
Total 213

2017 Incidents
Jan 17
Feb 12
Mar 12
Apr 24
May 15
Jun 16
Jul 28
Aug 34
Sept 18
Oct 19
Nov 19
Dec 22
Total 236

2016 Incidents
Jan 19
Feb 9
Mar 8
Apr 21
May 22
Jun 23
Jul 26
Aug 14
Sept 15
Oct 16
Nov 20
Dec 14
Total 207

Web Counters
Website Visitors
January 1, 2016
Visitors Today
Oct 15, 2018
69th Annual Installation of Officers
Email Email Print Print PDF PDF RSS RSS Facebook Google+ Twitter

By Assistant Fire Chief Eddie Raley
January 28, 2017

On January 28, 2017 the 69th Annual Installation of Officers Banquet was held at the Ridge Volunteer Fire Department Fire Hall. To start off the evening, the administrative, operational and auxiliary officers were sworn in by our own SMVFA Representatives Johnny Wathen and Darlene Wood. afterwards, Johnny and Darlene were installed by Barbra Sue Nelson, SMFVA.

2017 Administrative Officers:

President – Charlie Bradburn
Vice President – Ron Hafner
Secretary – Carley Dodge
Assistant Secretary – Eddie Raley
Treasurer – Johnny Wathen
Fire Chief – Ray Mercure

Board of Directors-

Charlie Bradburn
Tom Trossbach
Francis Raley
Dickie Wood
Ron Hafner
Johnny Wathen
Carley Dodge
Bruce Raley
Robert Simmons
George Franklin

2017 Line Officers:

Fire Chief – Ray Mercure
Assistant Chief – Eddie Raley
Deputy Chief – Darius Hawkins
Captain – Charlie Langley
Captain – Danny Gatton
Lieutenant – Robert Simmons
Lieutenant – JC Trossbach
Lieutenant - Jordan Andrews
Sergeant - Brent Jackson
Safety Officer – Phil Cooper
Safety Officer – Francis Raley
Safety Officer - Tom Trossbach
Chief Engineer – Peanut Gatton
Honorary Chaplain – Msgr. Carl Chimiak
Engineer – Bradley Cooper
Engineer – John Morrison
Engineer – Heavy Ridgell
Engineer – Ron Hafner
Engineer – Keith Raley
Engineer – Tony Ridgell
Engineer – Robbie Wood
Engineer – Charlie Bradburn
Engineer - John Keister
Engineer - Brian Cooper

2017 Auxiliary Officers

President – Dawn Gatton
Vice President – Debbie Fairfax
Recording Secretary – Darlene Wood
Corresponding Secretary - Aggie Owens
Treasurer – Margie Cooper

After the swearing in, dinner prepared by Rita B's Catering was served. Following dinner, Past Chief, Joe Cooper led us into a memorial ceremony to honor the deceased members of the department. The following deceased members were added to the memorial located in front of our station this year – Marsha Evans, Jean Lengle, Melvin Forrest, Thomas Ronald Wilkinson, and Harry Butch Wright, Jr. . Family members were escorted to place flowers in remembrance.

The awards program followed, under the helm of Master of Ceremonies, Former St. Mary's County Commissioner Dan Raley.

Congratulations to the following award recipients:

President's Award – James Raley

Chief's Award – Members of the Department & Auxiliary

Fireman of the year – Robert Simmons

Rookie of the year – Tyler Mercure

Chief Engineer's Award – John Morrison

Joe Titus Fire Prevention Award – Mary Wise

Auxiliary Member of the year – Peggy Vallandingham

Auxiliary Outstanding Service Award - Richard Fritz

Auxiliary President Dawn Gatton presented the department with a check totaling $20,000 to be used for the parking lot asphalt overlay project. The Auxiliary also purchased the department two large coolers to replace the old coolers.

The following were presented with Life Save Awards for their outstanding service, preservation of life and dedication to the community:

Ray Mercure
JC Trossbach
Ron Hafner
Karen Raley
Tyler Mercure
Robert Simmons
Jannet Keister
Carley Dodge
Darius Hawkins
Robbie Wood
Charlie Langley
Lori Raley
Steve Gatton
Quinton Ridgell
Danny Gatton
John Keister
Phil Cooper
Heavy Ridgell
Timmy Ridgell
Bonnie Ridgell

2016 Top 10 Emergency Responders:

1. Keith Raley 143 Calls
2. Kevin Lorence 139 Calls
3. Francis Raley 134 Calls
4. Tyler Mercure 130 Calls
5. Ray Mercure 119 Calls
6. Danny Gatton 100 Calls
7. Robbie Wood 96 Calls
8. Ron Hafner 95 Calls
9. Jannet Keister 90 Calls
10. John Morrison 86 Calls

Length of Service Awards:

5 Years – Will Kenny and Karen Raley

10 Years – Mike Peacher

20 Years - Allen Raley

25 Years - Mike Keister

30 Years – Kevin Lorence

45 Years – Eddie Cooper

Auxiliary Years of Service

5 Years - Laura Cook

10 Years - Debbie Fairfax and Tracy Owens

15 Years - Freda Franklin

25 Year (Life Member) - Aggie Owens

30 Year - Darlene Wood

45 Years - Jacqie Cooper, Millie Cullison, and Peggy Valandingham

Carnival Chairman Mike Ridgell presented several years of service awards to citizens of the community for their years of commitment to the Ridge Carnival.

A dance followed with music by DJ Carter.

The Officers and members of the Ridge VFD also would like to thank the members of Bay District VFD for covering our area during the installation.

Also, a special thanks to Mary Franklin for the pictures.

2017 Administrative Officers
2017 Administrative Officers
2017 Auxiliary Officers
2017 Auxiliary Officers
2017 Board of Directors
2017 Board of Directors
2017 Line Officers
2017 Line Officers
2017 RVFD Membership
2017 RVFD Membership
2017 Engineers
2017 Engineers

Comment Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Ridge Volunteer Fire Department, Inc.
13820 Point Lookout Road
P.O. Box 520
Ridge, MD 20680
Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: 301-872-5571
E-mail: info@ridgevfd.org
Copyright © 2018 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)