Ridge VFD MSFA Award Recipients
By Assistant Fire Chief Edward (Eddie) Raley
October 12, 2020

Due to COVID-19 restrictions the annual Maryland State Fireman's Association Convention in Ocean City Maryland was cancelled. The convention was held virtually instead. Listed below are this years Ridge VFD MSFA Award Recipients.

Safety Officer Phil Cooper was inducted into the MSFA Hall of Fame.The Hall of Fame Award was established by the Maryland State Firemen’s Association (MSFA) Executive Committee in 1979 as a result of a recommendation from Past President Eugene J. C. Raney to recognize the distinguished service of individuals. The first emphasis to be service to the MSFA and then service to the individuals department and local jurisdiction. Through the year 1985 the Hall of Fame Committee was authorized to select up to twenty (20) inductees into the Hall of Fame, and hence the selection shall be limited to ten (10) inductees, either living or deceased.

Captain Danny Gatton was recognized for fifty (50) years of continuous and faithful service.

Captain Francis Raley received the Smith N. Stathem, Jr., P.P., Memorial Safety Award.The Smith N. Stathem, Jr. Memorial Safety Award is established in 1998 by the MSFA Safety Committee and the family of MSFA Past President Stathem. The award was accepted by the MSFA Executive Committee in 1997. This award is to be presented each year to an individual who does the most to promote firefighter / EMS safety within his/her department / company.The intent of the award is to promote safety within the member departments and to encourage the safety officer program.

President Ron Hafner was recognized for Firefighter of the Year nominee.

Congratulations gentlemen!